Harrison and his Empress merely listened to the music for a while–listened gravely, as though synchronizing their heartbeats with it.

02/09/2010 § 7 Comments

It became their obvious intention to kiss the ceiling.

yrs, Jordan.

(They Kissed it)

Tagged: , ,

§ 7 Responses to Harrison and his Empress merely listened to the music for a while–listened gravely, as though synchronizing their heartbeats with it.

  • I remember reading this short story a while ago and loving it. I still do.

  • Tom says:

    dude…I read this in school, good story

  • Trent says:

    Oh my God, I haven’t read that story in forever. If you like Vonnegut, you should read his ‘Sirens of Titan.’ By far his best book.

  • Dylan says:

    I have been looking for this story for years!!! I couldn’t remember what the hell it was called, i only remembered the basic plot and that it moved me more than anything else i had to read in school. Thanks for reminding me of it!!! I’m going to go read it now and get lost in the wonderful world of science-fiction.

    “Science Fiction is an existential metaphor that allows us to tell stories about the human condition. Issac Asimov once said, “Individual science fiction stories may seem as trivial as ever to the blinder critics and philosophers of today – but the core of science fiction, its essence … has become crucial to our salvation if we are to be saved at all.””

  • Fabi says:

    The story was beautiful yet very saddening. I teared up towards the end.

  • Caitlin says:

    Just read this story a few weeks back in my college English class…Cat’s Cradle up next!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Harrison and his Empress merely listened to the music for a while–listened gravely, as though synchronizing their heartbeats with it. at La Dispute | and to the glorious past.

meta

