All Eyes Toward Sochi in 2014.

02/28/2010 § 16 Comments


And that guy.

Really, that hurt. What a game though, right?

Had to be Crosby too. Seriously, the guy hardly shows up for a single game in this tournament, notches the game winner (which was served up on a platter by Iginla), and he’s suddenly the savior of the universe. Give it a week and they’ll be renaming Canada Crosbyda. Mark my words. But where was the kid until that moment? Truth: I’ll take Ovechkin any day of the week.

*sigh*

yrs, Jordan.

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 16 Responses to All Eyes Toward Sochi in 2014.

  • Tom says:

    I think we all know that the best Olympic sport is curling haha. Hockey annoys me, the bassist in my band was trying to watch the game during practice. And his attention span is bad enough as it is.

  • Brad says:

    The one thing we Americans have is a young team. Parise, Eric Johnson, suter, miller are all flat out studs that are only going to get better

    • Ian says:

      It’s the same thing with Canada’s team though, the majority of them will still be in their twenties when Sochi comes around.

  • Fabi says:

    I agree. The ending results really hurt.

  • La Dispute says:

    Very true. Hence my excitement looking forward to the games in Russia. Youngest team in the tournament this year, and four years is a lot of development time.

    And don’t forget Patrick Kane (who now returns to being my mortal enemy as a member of the Chicago Blackhawks), the kid tore it up against Canada and Finland.

    And I’ll concede, it was good for Canada, and for the entire sport. A great, great Gold medal game.

    Go Wings.

  • ryanofarc says:

    as a canadian i find it weird that we equate patriotism with hockey, but i admit, i found it pretty badass when the dust was settled. we still love you though? : )

  • Flynn says:

    It was an amazing game that capped off an amazing tournament.

    I was getting really sick about hearing how great Crosby is though (it’s all us Canadians heard for two weeks). It was Iginla’s hard work along the boards that was the reason for the goal dammit.

  • Brad says:

    Point taken, can’t believe I forgot Kane.

    But now to focus on the NHL, a lot of games in a short period of time and IMO the best playoffs of any sport still to come.

    The flyers are tricking me and I fear I am getting a little too optimistic.

    We shall see

  • Evan says:

    I knew that us being a young team would be the game decider in the end. But I agree, I had already taken in the thought of us losing, but to Crosby? Out of all the players it just had to be him.

    Not to mention his Penguins last year. Thats two times in a row that he leaves me filled with irritation.

    P.S.: Miller had an amazing tournament for sure, but that shot? That one shouldn’t have gone in. I mean, it was a backhand taken from practically the goal line and the shot came from like 3 feet out with no traffic in front of him. (then again I might just be speaking from my contempt for the spartans)

  • Mark B. says:

    Of course Crosby got all the glory. You would expect him to score if anyone would end the game for Canada and Crosby would be the national hero. If anyone deserves props it is Miller. He was an amazing goalie and an amazing sport. He deserves 100x more props than Crosby. And for the NHL season, Crosby can just wait till Ovechkin and the Capitals play them again.

  • Jen says:

    The tags for this post made me giggle.

  • Fabi says:

    On another note, anyone looking forward to the FIFA World Cup in South Africa this year? I am!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading All Eyes Toward Sochi in 2014. at La Dispute | and to the glorious past.

meta

